American Scientific Glassblowers Society

Directors Report Spring 2005 Section: Southeastern Section Officers

Director:	Curt Sexton
Alt. Director:	Don Woodward
Chair:	Don Woodyard
Vice Chair:	Brian Markowicz
Secretary:	Ricky Harrison
Treasurer:	Ricky Harrison
	011

Section Profile

Number of section meetings planned for the year: 1 Number of meetings since last Board of Directors meeting: 1 Number of section members: 59 Average attendance at section meetings: 20-30 Financial resources: X_Adequate _____ Inadequate How would you describe your typical section meeting (check all that apply) Educational X_Social X_Speaker_____ Workshop X _____ Other

Section Challenges

_X_Difficulty in finding a meeting location

- ___Difficulty in organizing a meeting
- X_Difficulty in finding workshop presenters
- ___Poor attendance at section meetings
- X_ Difficulty in finding section officers

___Other (explain) ____

Additional Comments (use additional sheet if necessary):

The Annual Meeting of the Southeastern Section was held April 8 & 9 in Lexington, Kentucky. The meeting was hosted by Jeff Babbitt of the University of Kentucky and Wilber Mateyka, retired. On Friday we had a tour of LEXEL IMAGING INC. This company manufactures cathode ray tubes. We had exhibits in the afternoon at the hotel. Our annual business meeting was held Saturday morning at the Chemistry Department at the University of Kentucky. A new slate of officers was elected. Curt Sexton, Savannah River National Laboratory, Director for a 2 year term. Don Woodyard, Georgia Institute of Technology, Chairman for a 1 year term. Brian Markowics, the University of Georgia, Vice-Chair for 1 year. Ricky Harrison, the University of Georgia, remained as Secretary/Treasurer. Rick Smith, the University of Alabama will be hosting our 2006 meeting in April in Tuscaloosa, Alabama. After the business meeting we meet in the University Glass Shop for work shop demonstrations. We had around 25 members present with a total attendance of near 50 persons.

The Southeastern Section sponsors the Dana Sampson award for the best lamp shop hint and Gary Dobos is currently serving as the National Membership Chair.

Respectfully Submitted, William C. Sexton Director Southeastern Section