### **Awards Report**

### 2012 National Award Recipients:

J. Allen Alexander Award: Robert Singer Helmut Drechsel Award: Tracy Drier Memorial Award: Adam Kennedy

## 2012 Symposium award Recipients:

These awards were won at the 2011 Symposium in Alexandria, Virginia.

Dennis Courtney Award for best technical paper: Joseph S. Gregar for his paper "Construction of a Large Area Photo Detector Tile"

Wale Award for best technical poster: Tracy Drier for his poster "Construction of a Fused Borosilicate 81- Well Plate for Sample Stirring"

Wilt Award for best technical demonstration: Arial Rom for his demonstration of a "Ninety Degree Mitered Four Inch Bend"

## 2012 Expenses:

J. Allen Alexander Award 300.00 Helmut E. Drechsel Achievement Award 200.00 Plaque Purchases 197.00 \$697.00

#### Memorial Scroll:

Please remember our deceased members by nominating them for the Memorial Scroll, so that their contributions to the ASGS and the field of scientific glassblowing can be honored in remembrance of them. Names may be submitted to the Awards Committee via email, phone or letter.

### The Deadline for National Award Nominations is February 15, 2012

Please take time to nominate any members that deserve recognition for their contributions to the ASGS and the field of scientific glassblowing.

# Web Site Wish List

In the past, the ASGS web site has had a description of our committees, committee members and the various forms available for downloading. I don't have any idea how difficult it would be to bring this feature back, but it sure would be nice!

### Respectfully Submitted

Steven M. Anderson, Awards Committee Chair.